• Distance : 7,5 km

  • Walking time : 2h15

  • Altitudes : lowest point 891 m ; highest point 1250 m

  • Elevation : gain 287 m ; drop 535 m

 

Etivaz – Les Bornels – Le Devant de l’Etivaz – Le Pissot – Les Moulins

The trail leaves from the Etivaz caves, where Etivaz AOP is aged to perfection. After several meters on the road, the trail climbs toward the chapel before joining a road that goes back down the valley via pastures on the right bank. When the road enters the forest, look for a path that splits off into the woods and pastures. Follow the path until it meets back up with the road, a few hundred meters further. Etivaz AOP is produced in several of the chalets in this area. Follow the trail as it curves left and goes down to meet the main road in Devant de l’Etivaz. After 200m on the main road, the route descends in the forest near the Torneresse river. Walk along the increasingly steep-sided, right bank, then follow the road for several hundred meters to where the path splits off, climbing to offer impressive views of the Pissot gorges below.  From this viewpoint, the path drops back down through the forest and across the main road. Descend to the village of the Moulins through valley floor prairies and pastures, scattered with traditional homes.

 

Highlights

L'Etivaz 

This little hamlet, located between Château-d’Œx and the Col des Mosses, is home to aging cellars for traditional L’Etivaz AOP alpine cheese. The Maison de L’Etivaz, is situated next to the cellars. Guided tours of the cellars, a film and a sample of this delicious mountain cheese are available.

The wood buildings of L’Etivaz, some of which date to the 16th century, bare witness to a rich architectural heritage. Spreading over 7 km in the Torneresse valley, you will find this charming hamlet of very old homes, in a pastoral setting. The houses and their nearby barns/stables punctuate the bottom of the valley, where farmers and livestock, alike, pass the winter.

 

Etivaz Church and Vicarage

This church, with its remarkable architecture, dates to 1589 in its current form. The accompanying vicarage was built in 1707. This architectural gem is tucked into the Coumatta forest. The forest has been protected from logging since the 17th century because of its role stabilizing the land and protecting against avalanches. The church, in its current form, dates to 1589, although the protestant religion has been practiced here since 1555. The stained-glass windows were installed in the mid 20th century. The interior, covered by a wood ceiling, features original white pine woodwork from 1590.

Located next to the church, the vicarage was built in 1707 by the carpenter Joseph Goballet. The beautiful house, at first private, was bought in 1733 by the parish and thus became independent of Château-d’Œx.

 

Accommodation and dining facilities

The Park offers a list of agritourism accommodations that includes alternative accommodation, food and cheese-making demonstrations in the Park. Alternative accommodation includes chalets, refuges, B&Bs and guest rooms.



Public transport

Information and timetable: www.sbb.ch – Rail Service 0848 44 66 88 (CHF 0.08/min.)

L’Etivaz: PostBus (line 174 Château-d’Œx – Col-des-Mosses). Stop L’Etivaz, anc. Poste

Les Moulins: PostBus (line 174 Château-d’Œx – Col-des-Mosses). Stop Les Moulins, village

 

PARC NATUREL REGIONAL GRUYERE PAYS-D'ENHAUT

Place du Village 6 
1660 Château-d'Œx
+41 (0) 26 924 76 93

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

INFORMATIONS SUR LES ANIMATIONS ET INSCRIPTIONS


+41 (0) 848 110 888

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

NEWSLETTER